NZGames.com Forums
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NZGames.com Forums > General > Open Discussion > Politics
User Name
Password

Old 9th June 2011, 17:09     #1
PhX

Whats the deal with the referendum?

I'm a noob at politics but surely if MMP is such a concern as to spark up a referendum on it I'm inclined to do some research... what better place then a internet forum right? Anyone wish to enlighten me?

Last edited by PhX : 9th June 2011 at 17:10.
Old 9th June 2011, 17:23     #2
aR Que

http://www.beehive.govt.nz/release/m...-2011-election
Old 9th June 2011, 18:32     #3
fixed_truth

It's only really a concern to National because they believe that MMP favours the left.

Some good points here http://forums.nzgames.com/showthread.php?t=85627
Old 29th June 2011, 09:35     #4
ZeroBC
Quaking Legend

Can't we just kick out the Monarchy I think that would be more liberating.
Old 29th June 2011, 09:39     #5
CCS
Stunt Pants

What would that do for us?
Old 29th June 2011, 09:41     #6
ZeroBC
Quaking Legend

What do they do for us? Why do they control our law?
Old 29th June 2011, 09:42     #7
ZeroBC
Quaking Legend

What's up with our shit flag and anthum? I'm sick of being some colony. It's not at all representative of who I am. And don't get how arduous it is singing some silly song About God at a rugby game. Torture.
Old 29th June 2011, 09:46     #8
CCS
Stunt Pants

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroBC
What do they do for us? Why do they control our law?
What aspect of our law do they control?

Quote:
What's up with our shit flag and anthum? I'm sick of being some colony.
We haven't been a colony for a long time. I think the problem here is your state of mind rather than the Queen being our figurehead.
Old 29th June 2011, 09:47     #9
ZeroBC
Quaking Legend

Do they have any power, do they get any money? Didn't Canada break out? I'm very shore there is a Royal High comissioner that operates out of Brittan that makes all our ultimate law decisions.